Trump Banning Visitors From the U.S. From 7 Majority-Muslim Nations



By: Piper Warf

Donald Trump is temporarily banning people from seven Muslim-majority countries (Iran, Iraq, Syria, Somalia, Yemen, Sudan and Libya) from the United States. Trump said, Trump said, “We will reinforce old alliances and form new ones and unite the civilized world against radical Islamic terrorism, which we will eradicate from the face of the Earth.” World leaders and influential people, like famous celebrities, are calling out our president, Donald Trump, because they feel this decision he is making is illegal and discriminatory.

A federal judge in Washington temporary put a hold on Trump’s travel ban. The decision to put a hold on the ban was upheld by the U.S. Court of Appeals on Thursday Feb. 9.

Trump signed an executive order on in January excluding citizens from the following countries: Syria, Iraq, Iran, Yemen, Libya, Somalia, and Sudan. These Muslims are not allowed to enter the country for 90 days and all refugees are expelled from entering for 120 days. Over half of these 7 countries including Iran, Iraq, Sudan, and Yemen are saying how they don’t support Trump’s decision because they don’t like how they are thought of as a source of terrorism and that this is illegal to do.

Massive protests have occurred at airports across the country in New York, Chicago, San Francisco, and much more. Many people are making the argument that it is immoral that thousands of blameless people are suffering from conflict and war overseas, while Trump is slamming the door in their faces.

Trump confirmed that his policy would not affect all of the current Muslims that are already in the U.S.